Why Leaving Teaching One Year Ago Was the Best Decision

Steven Hopper
8 min readJul 31, 2020
Photo by Taylor Wilcox on Unsplash

One year ago, I made a courageous choice to leave my comfortable, tenured teaching position to start a new career.

And it wasn’t because of the students, like most would assume. No, the students were the best part of my eight years in the classroom and I miss them every day in my new job as a business consultant (adults are pretty boring compared to teenagers).

I made the choice to leave teaching not because I didn’t want to be a teacher. I loved my job.

I left teaching because personal health reasons made me realize how much I was sacrificing my own well-being to do what I loved.

And it shouldn’t have to be that way.

Schools as organizations and education as a career pathway simply haven’t kept pace with the modern lifestyle. While most employers are providing more and more perks to take care of their people, schools continue taking advantage of their most valuable asset.

So, one year after I left the classroom, I can look back and honestly say it was the best decision I’ve made.

And when reflecting about it now, I honestly feel bad for teachers about to go back to school.

Here are four reasons why they are probably considering a career change too:

--

--

Steven Hopper

Stories of a former high school teacher, now business consultant. Husband. Travel fanatic. Obsessed coffee drinker. And all-around nerd.